Connect with us


Can Nepal get new faces?

Dilip Nath, Bikram
Sob, Irshad Ahmed and Sandeep Lamichhane have reached the closest in their bid
to get selected in the national team after they were named in the 20-member
squad for the final round selection of the ICC World Cricket League
Championship matches against Papua New Guinea.


Nepal are playing PNG
on November 16 and 18 in the UAE in a busy opening three weeks of the
month which will also see them playing a one-day game against Pakistan on November
8. Nepal will also play a two-day match against Hong Kong apart from playing
50-over match each against Danube-local club of UAE and Oman national team.


Dilip, a wicket keeper
batsman, along with spinners Irshad and Sandeep and batsman Bikram have reached
farthest in a tough road for their national team selection with Yagyaman Kumal
also getting close.


Yagyaman, former U-19
seamer, previously made it to the final 18 before he was thrown out. The
20-member squad also gives an opportunity to Subash Khakurel, Naresh Budhayer,
Prithu Baskota and Mehboob Alam to return to the side.


Subash had been a long
time opener for Nepal until he was excluded from the side that face Scotland in
the WCLC game in July, while Naresh last played in the ICC World Cricket League
Division 2 tournament in Nambia and Mehboob was a part of the team in Division
3 held in Malaysia.


Prithu has not been in
the national team since the 2014 ICC World Cup Qualifiers in New Zealand after
injury sidelined him. Other members in the team include Paras Khadka, Sharad
Vesawkar, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Shakti Gauchan, Gyanendra Malla, Anil Mandal,
Mahesh Chhetri, Rajesh Pulami and Karan KC.


second round of selection will be without Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee and
Siddhant Lohani. CAN will now name a final 14-member squad after another round of

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!