Connect with us


CAN announces team for SL Tour

Rajesh Pulami Magar and Karan KC earned a call-up with Pradeep Airee and Anil Mandal making a comeback as the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Wednesday announced a 15-member national team squad for the 18-day Sri Lanka tour.


Nepal will play two three-day matches (against Sri Lanka Development Squad) and three Twenty20 Internationals and one 50-over match against Hong Kong in the Sri Lanka tour that begins from Thursday. The tour will kickoff with a three-day game from November 9-11.


Karan and Rajesh will be winning their national team debut after coach Pubudu Dassanayake decided to hand the youngsters a place for future team formation. Karan was shortlisted in the 18-member squad for the recently held ICC World Cricket League Division-III but failed to make the cut for the final 14.


Rajesh, who never made it to the 18-member squad in the past, was picked up directly this time and is tipped to make Twenty20 International debut along with his appearance in the three-day match.


Out of form batsman Pradeep and Anil are making a comeback after their last appearance with the national team in the ICC World Twenty20 held in Bangladesh in March.


Rest of the team comprises of the triumphant Division-III team with Aarif Sheikh scheduled to join the squad for the Twenty20 International Series that begins from November 19. Aarif is in Kuwait representing Nepal in the ACC U-19 Premier League. The ACC U-19 Premier begins from November 7-15, while Nepal’s second three-day ends on November 16.


Paras Khadka will lead the team with Gyanendra Malla his deputy. Gyanendra will join the team after the first three-day game which is scheduled for November 9-11. He has opted out of the first three-day due to personal reasons. The second three-day begins from November 14.


Binod Bhandari, Subash Khakurel, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Bhuwan Karki, Som Pal Kami, Sagar Pun, Amrit Bhattarai and Naresh Budhayer are the other members in the team. Nepal have already lost Sharad Vesawkar due to fatigue and piles.


Coach: Pubudu Dassanayake

Asst Coach: Mahesh Prasad Rijal

Team Manager: Shailesh Kumar Chaudhary

Technical Analayst: Raman Shiwakoti

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!