Connect with us


CAN announces Mayor XI squad for Mayor Cup

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Monday announced a 15-member squad consisting of the top performers from the provincial teams of the Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament to compete in the impending Mayor Cup 50-over cricket.

The cricket governing body has named the squad Kathmandu Mayor XI and will compete against four semi-finalists of the Prime Minister Cup. Bagmati was the only provincial team to reach the semi-finals of the tournament along with Nepal APF Club, Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal Police Club.

Mayor Cup is the second 50-over tournament Nepal will be holding in a matter of two months. CAN had joined hands with Kathmandu Metropolitan City to organise the tournament and will be assisted by Rs 5 million.

Siddhant Lohani is the only player from Province 1 to make the cut in the 15-member squad, while Hari Shankar Sah and Bibek Yadav were picked up from Province 2.

Gandaki Province will have their skipper Bipin Khatri and 15-year old Arjun Kumal to represent the side.

Lumbini Province has the highest number of players in Mayor XI including the likes of Saurabh Khanal, Krishna Karki, Anil Kharel, Bikram Bhushal and Sandeep Rajali.

Anuj Chunara, Bipin Rawal and skipper Rabindra Jung Shahi were picked up from Karnali with Khadag Bahadur Bohora and Narayan Joshi making the cut from Sudurpaschim Province.

The Mayor Cup kicks off from March 6 at the TU Stadium and Mulpani Cricket Ground. The participating teams will compete in league format before the top two teams play the final.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!