Connect with us


Bhuwan to lead Mahendranagar team

National U-19 team skipper Bhuwan Karki has been named the skipper of Region No 9 (Mahendranagar) for the Wai Wai U-19 National Cricket Tournament beginning from Friday. 


Bhuwan led the national side during the ACC U-19 Elite in Malyasia – where Nepal had finished fourth – held from May 3-11.


Bhuwan plays for Nepal APF Club in the senior domestic cricket. The Mahendranagar team included Raju Rijal, Binod Khatri, Bhim Sarki, Dipendra Chand, Lalit Singh Bhandari, Chandan Rawal, Tekendra Malla and Yagya Man Kumal. 


Gyanendra Kunwar, Arjun Chapagain, Sagar Joshi, Dipendra Airee, Roman Bam and Shiva Raj Swar are the other members of the team. Kishan Mahat is the team coach.


After being recognised as the new region in domestic cricket three months back, Mahendranagar are playing their first age-group tournament with the U-19 event. They made the debut in domestic cricket through the Pepsi Standard Chartered National Twenty20 Tournament that concluded on October 4.


Meanwhile, Bibhatsu Thapa has been given the responsibility to lead Region No 3 (Kathmandu) that includes Som Pal Kami – the man-of-the-series and best batsman of the Selection Tournament – Prakash Bista ‘A’, Pawan Shrestha, Ashish Dhami, Sharad Khadka, Milan Thapa, Ashish Pokharel, Purushottam Jha, Abhiraj Yadav, Prakash Bista ‘B’, Arjun Adhikari, Rabin Yadav and Adil Khan. Samson Jung Thapa is the coach for Kathmandu. 


The nine-day Wai Wai U-19 National will be held at three venues with TU Stadium, Pulchowk Engineering College grounds and Sainik Awasiya Mahavidhyalaya grounds sharing matches. On the opening day, Region No 8 (Pokhara) will meet Region No 7 (Janakpur) in Pulchowk. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!