Connect with us


Bhuwan named skipper as final 14 revealed

Left arm spinner Bhuwan Karki has been named Nepal’s skipper for the ACC U-19 Elite which is scheduled for May 3-11 in Malaysia.

Bhuwan is the senior most and experienced player in the 14-member squad that was unveiled by the cricket governing body on Wednesday. Avinash Karn of Birgunj was named Bhuwan’s deputy while other players making cut from his region were Amit Shrestha, Ram Naresh Giri and Irshad Ahmed. 

Along with Bhuwan, Yagya Man Kumal and Prem Tamang were the other cricketers selected from the previous 20-member squad after a second phase of closed-camp training that had begun at the TU Stadium from April 17. Bhuwan was the part of the senior national team that won the ACC Trophy Elite in October last year.

After stealing the limelight with his last-over maiden during Nepal’s thrilling one-run victory over Oman during the 2007 ACC U-15 Elite Cup, the 19-year old from Dhangadhi has represented Nepal in six international tournaments from different age groups.

Apart from U-15 Elite Cup and ACC Trophy Elite, Bhuwan has played the 2009 ACC U-17 Elite Cup, 2011 ACC U-19 Elite Cup, ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifier, ACC U-19 Asia Cup and ICC U-19 World Cup in 2011. Arjun Chapagain was the only player to face axe from Region No 6 Baitadi. 

Pitted in Group ‘B’, Nepal will face the challenge from hosts Malaysia, Qatar, Bahrain and Kuwait. Group ‘A’ consists of defending champions Afghanistan, Hong Kong, UAE, Thailand and Saudi Arabia. The winners from the tournament will qualify for ICC U-19 World Cup to be held in the UAE.

Rahul Pratap Singh and Hari Shankar Shah found their places from Region No 7 (Janakpur), Bibhatsu Thapa and Pawan Shrestha were picked up from Region No 3 (Kathmandu), while Sushan Bhari and Nirmal Thapa of Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) were other players to make the final cut.

Nischal Pandey is the lone player to represent Region No 8 Pokhara in the U-19 national team. Birgunj’s Suraj Kumar Kurmi was kept reserve along with Sharad Khadka of Kathmandu, Amit Dahal of Region 1 (Biratnagar) and Abhishek Jha of Janakpur. Inamuddin Halwai of Region-V (Nepalgunj) and Sameer Nepal of Janakpur were other two players omitted.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!