Connect with us


Bhairahawa sail into semi-finals

Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) filed their third consecutive victory to enter the semi-finals of the Wai Wai U-19 Women’s National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at the Pulchowk Engineering College grounds.


In a Group ‘B’ match, Bhairahawa defeated Region No 9 (Kanchanpur) by eight wickets to go through as pool winners with yet one match to go. No other teams now can topple them from the group.


Bhairahawa stopped Kanchanpur at 98-3 in 20 overs. Indu Berman then blew away Kanchanpur with a quick fire 46 not out off 34 to guide Bhairahawa to 99-2 in just 11.5 overs. Bhairahawa lost opener Nitu Bhandari (one) with just 15 runs on the board but Indu combined for a 81-run stand for the second wicket with Sadhna Gautam (15) to seal the game.


Indu slammed eight boundaries in her match-winning knock. Earlier, openers Bimala Bhatt (10) and Nirmala Chand gave Kanchanpur a modest start with a 38-run stand. Nirmala made 33 off 43 with four boundaries and when she was dismissed Kanchanpur were 59-2 in 14 overs.


Bindu Rawal then lifted Kanchanpur with a 39-run stand for the third wicket with Kabita Joshi (eight not out). Indu dismissed Bindu in the last ball of Kanchanpur innings for 31 off 39 that included three boundaries.


In another Group ‘B’ game, Region No 6 (Baitadi) brought themselves back on track defeating Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) by six wickets. Nepalgunj were restricted to 80-7 in 20 overs before Baitadi reached 82-4 in 13.4 overs.


Openers Kabita Kuwnar and Suman Gupta (nine) laid the foundation for Baitadi victory sharing 45 runs for the first wicket. Rekha BC dismissed both batswoman in a space of four balls reducing Baitadi to 46-2 in 8.5 overs.


Kabita made 29 off 33 with five boundaries. In a space of 15 runs, Baitadi lost Manju Bokati (11) and Samjhana Khadka (three) being reduced to 66-4 in 12 overs. Nisha Bhatt (14 not out) and Hema Ayer (five not out) carried Baitadi to safety.


Earlier, Saya Basnet made 18 off 45 in her boundaryless innings, while Gita Gosai (15), Kamala BC (11) and Rekha BC (11) helped Nepalgunj put some runs on the board. Kabita Kunwar picked up two wickets for Baitadi with Nisha Bhatta, Sapana Lama and Sunita Luhar taking one each.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!