Connect with us


Bangalore hold nerves to beat IPL champions Mumbai in last ball thriller

AB de Villiers once again set sail the Royal Challengers Bangalore ship as the South African legend smacked a 27-ball 48 before his side held on to defeat Mumbai Indians by two wickets in the Indian Premier League opener on Friday.

After Harshal Patel picked up five wickets in Chennai, Mumbai were restricted to a mediocre 159-9 before De Villiers pulled the game to the last over and despite his departure Bangalore sealed a last ball victory.

Bangalore needed 19 runs from the last 12 deliveries and De Villiers put them on the edge collecting 11 runs from the first four deliveries of a crucial penultimate over bowled by Jasprit Bumrah.

Kyle Jamieson was run out in the fifth before De Villiers kept the strike for the final over with just seven runs to win from last six balls. In a frantic last over from Marco Jansen, Bangalore collected four runs from the first three balls before Bangalore lost De Villiers to a run out while stealing a double.

Harshal Patel took 5-27 from four overs for Bangalore before sealing the last ball finish. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

New man Mohammad Siraj sneaked for a leg bye and Patel scampered for a single off a yorker for a thrilling finish. De Villiers innings included four boundaries and two sixes. Bumrah and Jansen took two wickets each for Mumbai.

Kohli rung a surprise after he came to open the innings with Washington Sundar leaving behind Glenn Maxwell and De Villiers. The duo added 36 runs for the first wicket. In a space of 10 runs, Bangalore were 46-2 after Bangalore lost Sundar (10) and Rajat Patidar (eight).

Glenn Maxwell did the bulk of scoring in his 52-run stand with Kohli who fell to compatriot Japrit Bumrah for a 29-ball 33 that included four hits to the fence. Maxwell soon fell to Marco Jansen for a 28-ball 39 hiting four boundaries and two sixes.

Chris Lynn missed his half century by just one run. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

Mumbai were headed towards a huge total after their top four contributed runs but Kyle Jamieson’s dismissal of Surya Kumar Yadav halted their match. Yadav and Chris Lynn had notched up 70 runs for the second wicket after Mumbai lost their capain Rohit Sharma (19) with 24 runs on board.

Jamieson, playing his first IPL match, had Yadav caught behind by AB de Villiers and Washington Sundar took a return catch of Lynn in a space of 11 runs as Mumbai began to struggle.

Lynn top scored for them with a 35-ball 49 hitting four boundaries and three sixes. Yadav’s 23-ball 31 included four boundaries and a six. Ishan Kishan was out for 19-ball 28 after hitting two fours and a six.

Mumbai’s hopes of at least putting some runs in the final over ended after Patel dismissed Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard in the first two deliveries. Mumbai lost four wickets, three of them belong to Patel, in the last over scoring just one run.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in International

error: Content is protected !!