Connect with us

IPL 2020

Bangalore bundle out Kolkata for season’s lowest, jump to second spot

Mohammad Siraj became the first bowler to take two maiden in a single Indian Premier League match as the Royal Challengers Bangalore medium pacer was the cornerstone in bundling out Kolkata Knight Riders for their second lowest total of the tournament.

Siraj took 3-8 from four overs in Bangalore’s eight-wicket victory over Kolkata who were dismissed for a this season’s lowest total of 84-8. Siraj’s first two overs were maiden which happened for the first time in IPL’s 13-year history, while Kolkata narrowly survived to surpass their IPL-low 67 against Mumbai Indians in 2007.

It was Bangalore who previously had season’s lowest after they were skittled out for 109 by Kings XI Punjab. Two out of Bangalore’s three-defeat this season came at the hands of Punjab.

Kolkata were 57-9 before Lockie Ferguson made 19 runs to avoid further humiliation for the two-time champions. Eoin Morgan top scored for Kolkata making a 34-ball 30 that included four boundaries and a six.

Bangalore produced the most dominating display this season. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

Siraj struck twice in the first over removing Rahul Tripathi and Nitish Rana consecutively before returning in the fourth to get rid of Tom Banton. The pressure compounded more when Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar strangulated the Kolkata middle order.

Kolkata innings had 72 dot deliveries. Chahal took 2-15 for Bangalore who hardly had any trouble in reaching 85-2 with 39 balls to spare. Devdutt Padikkal (25) and Aaron Finch (16) began with a 46-run opening wicket stand. Gurkeerat Singh (21 not out) and skipper Virat Kohli (18) did the rest after the departure of openers.

The handsome victory lifted Bangalore to the second spot in the table ahead of Mumbai Indians and just behind Delhi Capitals who lead on net run rate.

Bangalore and Delhi have played 10 matches apiece and have 14 points. Mumbai have 12 points from nine games.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in IPL 2020

error: Content is protected !!