Connect with us


AWTCA win both Twenty20 matches

All India Women’s Twenty20 Cricket Association (AWTCA) won both of their Twenty20 matches under the first Indo-Nepal Cricket Tournament on Thursday.

At the Pulchowk Engineering College grounds, AWTCA hammered Rising Cricket for Women (RCW) by 97 runs before edging past Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club by 10 runs.

The visiting side was troubled for the first time in its tour when APF bundled them out for 96 runs in 19.2 overs. But the Nepali national champions failed to replicate their bowling performance with the bat managing just 86  all out in 19.2 overs.

Neera Rajopadhyay top scored for APF with a 15-ball 17 and Jyoti Pandey hit a run-a-ball 16 with two fours. Shivpriya Pandey took 4-21 from two overs, while Lasika Jangra and Renu Yadav had two scalp apiece.

Earlier, Pooja Nimavat contributed 24 off 26 for AWTCA with two boundaries, while Renu Yadav (19) and Babeeta Meena (18) were other batswoman to make runs in double figures. Ritu Kanojiya took 3-16 for APF with skipper Rubina Chhetri and Rajopadhyay getting two scalps apiece.

In the first match of the day, unbeaten half centuries from Jakya Khan and Sampa Mukherjee lifted AWTCA to 148-1 before they bundled out RCW for just 51 in 15.4 overs. Aarati Bidari (15 not out) and Anjali Chand (10) were the only RCW batswomen making runs in double figures.

Anjali Pandey took 4-10 from 3.4 overs for AWTCA and Lasika Johgra took three wickets. Khan ran riot on RCW bowlers smashing 66 off 61 with eight fours, while Mukherjee hammered 51 off 38 with eight fours and a six. Saraswati Chaudhary took the only AWTCA wicket to fall.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Others

error: Content is protected !!