Connect with us


Australia won the fist test match against India

Australia has won the first test match against India by a margin of 48 runs in spite of heroic batting from debutant captain Virat Kohli and opener Murali Vijay in the match held at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide. With this win Australia leads the four match test series against tourist India by 1-0.


Chasing the target of 364 runs in last of the first test match India was able to make just 315 runs playing 87.1 overs. Captain Kohli who scored his second test hundred in the second inning was out on 141 runs while opener Vijay was out on 99 runs missing his ton.


Australian win was made sure by left arm spinner Nathan Lyon who took seven wickets conceding 152 runs bowling 34.1 overs. Lyon who took five wickets in the first inning was declared as man of the match. Apart from Lyon Mitchell Johnson took two wickets while Ryan had a scalp.


Australia won the toss and chooses to batted first. As three batsman scored century Australia piled up a huge score of 517 runs losing their seven wickets and declared their first inning. Steve Smit was the highest run scorer who made not out 162 runs, opener David Warner made 145 while Captain Michael Clarke made 128 runs.


India then was all out for 444 runs in their first inning. Virat Kholi who debuted as captain in test match scored 115 runs while Cheteshwar Pujara made 73 runs and opener Murali Vijay contributed 53 runs. Nathan Lyon took five wickets conceding 134 runs.


Australia who took 73 runs lead in first inning made 290 runs losing five wickets and declared their inning. Opener David Warner made 145 runs in first inning made 102 runs while Steve Smith who made 162 runs in first inning remained not out 52 runs in the second inning.


The second test match between Australia and India will be played at The Gabba, Brisbane from December 17.


Australia 7 for 517 declared (Steve Smith 162 not out, David Warner 145, Michael Clarke 128) and 5 for 290 declared (David Warner 102, Steve Smith 52 not out) beat India 444 (Virat Kohli 115, Cheteshwar Pujara 73, Murali Vijay 53, Nathan Lyon 5-134) and 315 (Virat Kohli 141, Murali Vijay 99, Lyon 7-152) by 48 runs

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in International

error: Content is protected !!