logo of cricketingnepal.com

How much will Gayle pocket while playing in Nepal?

Jan 31, 2020 | CN Staff |

Nepali cricket drew global attention once again after the country's top Twenty20 league announced the arrival of West Indies' juggernaut Chris Gayle.

The Twenty20 Universe Boss will feature in the Everest Premier League where he will play for Pokhara Rhinos, the same franchise that created headlines by roping in hard-hitting South African Richard Levi last season. Rhinos are also expected to bring in another South African Hashim Amla. The former Proteas skipper has also been confirmed to play in the EPL but its not sure whom he will be playing for.

EPL also has another Caribbean player Dwayne Smith, former Sri Lankan skipper Upul Tharanga and Afghanistan's explosive opener Mohammad Shahzad but Gayle so far is the biggest name associated with the tournament. And it in fact have pushed owners J4 Sports to a limit in bringing him to Nepal, in terms of finance and persuasion.

According to a source close to the franchise, Rhinos are said to have splashed a huge cash on Gayle investing more than 10 million Nepali rupees (almost US $88,000) for the four matches he is expected to play in the tournament. With Indian Premier League around the corner, Gayle's stay in Nepal is just a detour.

Gayle will feature in EPL considering his engagement in the IPL which kicks off from March 29. EPL begins from March 14 and ends on 28th. But at least four matches for Gayle in Nepal are sealed.

The Twenty20 king will be paid US $70,000 as his salary of which he will pay 15 percent tax to the Nepal government. With Gayle coming to Nepal in a business class flight from Jamaica, the franchise will also bear the expense of Rs 1.2 million for him. His stay at the luxurious five-star Soaltee Hotel will also be borne by J4 Sports.

Gayle is being paid more than what the cash purse of EPL carries. Champions from the previous edition of the tournament received Rs 2.5 million while organisers EPL Pvt Ltd are yet to announce the prize amount for this year's edition.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard