logo of cricketingnepal.com

Army successfully defend MM Cup title

Jan 18, 2020 | CN Staff |

Tribhuvan Army Club claimed their second consecutive title of the MM Cup One Day National cricket tournament with an 85-run victory over Nepal Police Club on Saturday.

In a rematch of last year's final, NPC did well after they restricted a strong Army side to 184 in 48.5 overs. But the Policemen were undone by Army spinners who accounted for nine wickets and bundled them out for just 99 in 24.4 overs.

Along with the title, Army claimed a cash purse of Rs 405,000 and runners-up NPC got Rs 205,000.

Left arm spin trio of Sushan Bhari Shrestha, Kushal Malla and Shahab Alam rocked NPC chase as they struck with important scalps of Pawan Sarraf (duck), Amit Shrestha, Dipendra Singh Airee (five) and Anil Kumar Sah.

Amit made 23 off 28 with four boundaries, while Anil scored 21 off 18 with a six and a four. Kushal Bhurtel tried to keep NPC in the game with a gritty 27-ball 31 but fell prey to Shahab as the last batsman out. He hit three fours and two sixes.

Man-of-the-final Bhari took 4-24 from four overs, while Shaha also had three scalps. Kushal took 2-15 from his six overs. Bikram Sob had dismissed opener Sunil Dhamala early in the game.

Army earlier didn't have the best of the start losing their wicket in a cluster with only Raju Rijal (22) and Rajesh Pulami Magar putting some runs on the board from the top and middle order. Rajesh made 31 off 49 with four boundaries.

They were precariously placed at 116-7 in 27.1 overs before skipper Binod Bhandari bailed them out of trouble with a half century (53 runs) partnership for the eighth wicket with Bikram. Bhandari struck four boundaries in a match-high 40 off 66 balls.

Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi and Sagar Dhakal took three wickets each for NPC.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard