logo of cricketingnepal.com

Army make short work of Province 3 for another final

Jan 15, 2020 | CN Staff |

Tribhuvan Army Club made short work of Province 3 to enter the final of the MM Cup One Day National Cricket Tournament on Wednesday.

In the semi-final match at the Inaruwa Stadium, Army were shut down for a below-par 216 all out in 46.3 overs but their bowlers did well to defend the total skittling out Province 3 for just 152 in 38.1 overs for a 64-run victory.

The victory puts Army into their second consecutive final and a prospect of title rematch against Nepal Police Club who are taking on Sudur Paschim Province in the second semi-final on Thursday.

A collective bowling effort ended Province 3 chase after they reduced the Subash Khakurel-led side to 73-7 inside 20 overs. Sonu Tamang then blitzed with a one-man fight smashing a 75-ball 74 but it only prolonged Army's wait for victory.

Sonu struck six sixes and four boundaries before falling to man-of-the-match Kushal Malla who earlier had provided the impetus for what ultimately was a winning total for the Armymen. Sushan Bhari Shrestha took 3-23 from 8.1 overs, while Shahab Alam had the figures of 2-26 from nine overs.

Earlier, Anil Mandal and Rohit Kumar Paudel (29) shared 62 runs for the third wicket to consolidate the Army innings. They were still in the spot of bother at 115-6 in 30.2 overs before Kushal played some blistering strokes.

Kushal struck four boundaries and two sixes in a 26-ball 37, while Bikram Sob made 24 off 33 with three hits to the fence. Anil top scored for them with a 73-ball 43 with three fours. Gautam KC took 4-22 from 7.2 overs for Province 3. Tilak Bhandari, Nandan Yadav and Ishan Pandey also took two wickets each.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard