logo of cricketingnepal.com

Kushal Malla smashes whirlwind ton to blank Armed Police

Jan 05, 2020 | CN Staff |

Kushal Malla smashed a sensational century in an innings studded with 13 sixes as Tribhuvan Army Club hammered Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) in the MM Cup One Day National cricket tournament on Sunday.

In what could be a knock out blow for APF, Kushal's scintillating knock helped Army amass 281 in 46 overs. APF, in reply, were shut down for 173 in 39.3 overs handing 108-run to the Armymen. Only the top team from three team pool will qualify for the semi-final and its Army who now have their one foot in the final.

Anything that stole the day was Kushal's explosive knock who batted like he was playing a Twenty20 match, that too without respecting a decent bowling attack of APF that included the settled names of Nepali domestic cricket.

Army were 38-2 inside 15 overs before Kushal launched his assault. He did the majority of scoring in two crucial partnerships of 85 runs for the third wicket with opener Anil Mandal and 72 runs for the fourth with Rohit Kumar Paudel (26). Anil made 41 off 88 with four hits to the fence.

Kushal smashed five sixes in a 63-ball 111 before Rajesh Pulami Magar lifted them across 280 with a 24-ball 38 that included two sixes and as many boundaries. Veteran left arm spinner Basanta Regmi took 4-54 from 10 overs for APF.

APF's chase was jolted with third-ball dismissal of their opener Aasif Sheikh. The middle order did get the start but never managed to build good partnerships. Shankar Rana and Pradeep Airee (21) added 51 runs for the second wicket but after that their struggle began.

Prithu Baskota top scored for APF with a 37-ball 36 with two sixes and two boundaries. Shankar made a 41-ball 32. He hit four boundaries and a six but other batsmen failed to put any tangible total to the board.

Left arm spinner Shahab Alam took 4-31 from nine overs for the Armymen and Kushal had an allround day taking 2-24 from four overs. On Monday, APF will take on hosts Manmohan Memorial Cricket Club of Inaruwa.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard