logo of cricketingnepal.com

No surprise as Rhinos sweep Pokhara Premier League title

Dec 28, 2019 | CN Staff |

There was no surprise from the build up to climax as Chitwan Rhinos claimed the Pokhara Premier League title with a 32-run victory over Biratnagar Titans on Saturday.

A team that already had former national team skipper Paras Khadka as the marquee and captain, Rhinos had a sensational build up after announcing their international recruitment in juggernauts Babar Hayat, Rohan Mustafa and Sunny Patel.

Solid both in paper and performance, they hardly gave anyone an outside chance to finish at the top of the table with five consecutive victories in the league stage.

Titans had a roller coaster ride and after smashing Butwal Blasters in the Eliminator they were expected to put on another show in the final. But Paras-led killed off the game in the first innings amassing a mammoth 202-5 in 20 overs.

Paras himself began the fireworks hitting Jitendra Mukhiya for 22 runs in a single over before losing his wicket for an 11-ball 25. Rhinos did lose Babar cheaply but a strong batting line up was never going to be a trouble for them.

 Rohan and Anil Sah forged a match-winning 95-run partnership for the third wicket. Anil played swiftly hitting three sixes and as many fours in his 34-ball 50. Rohan continued his sublime form scoring a 43-ball 50 with three fours and a six.

Rhinos were 142-4 after losing Anil and Mustafa in a single over and it was big-hitting Karan KC (eight-ball 26 not out), Aarif Sheikh (19) and Sunny Patel (16 not out) who took the team across 200 runs.

Titans were dealt a huge blow when they lost opener Sunil Dhamala and No 3 Lokesh Bam with just 16 runs on the board. Another opener Mohammad Zaid Alam tried to put Titans in the game with an enterprising half century but under pressure to chase a huge total, were stopped at 170-7.

Zaid made 57 off 48 with five fours and three sixes. Pradeep Airee (36), Puneet Mehra (32) and Noman Khan (18) only prolonged Rhinos' wait for victory. Karan KC once again took three wickets for Rhinos with Mustafa also picking up two wickets.


Chitwan Rhinos ---- Rs 2.7 million

Biratnagar Titans ------ Rs 1 million

Rohan Mustafa (Man-of-the-series) ---- TVS Motorcycle

Gyanendra Malla (Best batsman) --- TVS Motorcycle

Karan KC (Best bowler) --- TVS Motorcycle

Lokesh Bam (Most valuable player) --- Rs 100,000


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard