logo of cricketingnepal.com

Suman's allround show lands Rhinos first Women's Champions League title

Oct 24, 2019 | CN Staff |

Suman Khatiwada starred with an allround display as Chitwan Rhinos won the inaugural edition of the Women's Champions League at the TU grounds on Thursday.

At the vibrant TU grounds, Rhinos defeated Kat Queens Kathmandu by 45 runs. Suman was the leading scorer for Rhinos after her 25-ball 29 lifted Rhinos to a challenging final score of 112-4 in 20 overs. The striker bowler then returned to pick up three wickets as Kat Queens were bundled out for just 67 runs in exactly overs.

Along with the title, Rhinos collected a cash purse of Rs 700,000 and runners-up Kat Queens got Rs 300,000. Their skipper Rubina Chhetri had something to cheer for after walking away with the player-of-the-series award. She earned a scooter.

 Rhinos had a great start after openers Kajol Shrestha and Indu Barma combined for a 49-run partnership. Kat Queens hit back in the middle stages to stem the run flow before Suman providing the impetus for triple figures.

She was a majority scorer in her 35-run partnership for the third wicket with Ritu Kanoujiya striking four crispy boundaries. Skipper Indu Barma then lifted the team total in the end making a 19-ball 22 not out with four hits to the fence.

Kat Queens innings was also controlled by Suman after she bowled effectively giving away just three runs in the first three overs and taking a wicket. Rekha Rawal jolted their innings with the prized scalp of Rubina (two) along with Roma Thapa (duck).

Rekha took 2-9 from four overs. Apsari Begam top scored for Kat Queens with a 31-ball 15 with two fours. Mamta Thapa (13) and Ishwori Bist (13) were other two batswoman to make runs in double figures. Ritu also bowled a tight line picking up 3 for seven from three overs.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard