logo of cricketingnepal.com

Province 3 ease to U-16 National Cricket title

Apr 08, 2019 | CN Staff |

Province 3 on Monday eased to a 33-run victory over Province 5 to claim the title of the U-16 National Cricket League at the Tribhuvan University grounds.

Half century from Abhishek Upadhyaya and handy knock from skipper Deepak Bohora and Prashant Mahat lifted Province 3 to 162-5 in 30 overs after they elected to bat first. Captain Bishal Bikram KC kept his side in the game sticking to the crease but his departure virtually threw Province 5 out of contest before they were restricted 139-8.


Province  3 struggled in their chase losing first three wickets for just 37 runs before Abhishek stepped in. He began by anchoring the innings with Deepak Bohora sharing 58 runs for the fourth wicket. Abhishek made 56 off 71 with two boundaries.


Although Province 3 lost Abhishek, Deepak stuck to the crease and together with Prashant got involved in an invaluable 55-run partnership for the fifth wicket that helped them build on to a good total. Prashant was unbeaten on 34 off 32 balls with one six and a four. Deepak made 30 off 39 hitting four boundaries.


Ramesh Kurmi and Suraj Khadka took two wickets each for Province 5 who also had identical start in the chase. They lost first three wickets for just 31 runs before Bishal kept them in title hunt. Bishal and Amar Mishra added 61 runs for the fourth wicket and looked like Province 5 were on course for the title.


Krish Karki dealt the hammer blow removing Bishal and Province 5 were then left in tatters. Bishal made 44 off 46 balls with six boundaries and Amar scored 29 off 44 with two boundaries and a six.


Bibek Darai and Deepak took two wickets each for Province 3. Sakriya Karki and Tilak Bhandari also had one scalp. Province 5 skipper KC was adjudged the man-of-the-series, while Ramesh Kurmi of the same team was adjudged the best bowler. Aaish Bhattarai of Province 3 was named the best bowler and Arjun Kumal of Province 4 was adjudged the emerging player of the tournament.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard