logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sharad back in the team, Jora, Bhim left out

Jun 30, 2019 | CN Staff |

National team middle order Sharad Vesawkar was brought back into the fold as coach Umesh Patwal on Sunday announced 14-member squad for the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup Asia Regional Qualifier scheduled for July 20-28. 

Sharad, who famously led Nepal into the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 playing some crucial cameos during the 2013 Qualifiers in the UAE, had missed Nepal’s only One Day and Twenty20 International series against the United Arab Emirates.


Sharad was left out due to vitamin D deficiency and now looks forward to make the most of the opportunity he finds in the Qualifiers along with the two Twenty20 Internationals Nepal are going to play in Malaysia prior to the Regional Qualifiers in Singapore.


Only the winners from the five-team Qualifier will make it to the Global Qualifiers slated for October and November in the UAE. Nepal will meet Singapore, Kuwait, Qatar and Malaysia in the Qualifier.


While Rohit Paudel is back in the team after he was left out in the three-match Twenty20 International series against the UAE, Aarif Sheikh was kept as reserve.


Paras Khadka will lead the side that also includes Gyanendra Malla, Basanta Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Dipendra Singh Airee, Pawan Sarraf, Abinash Bohora.


Sandeep Jora who had become world’s youngest half centurion against the UAE in the losing cause for the first Twenty20 International was also kept out. Jora had remained silent throughout his campaign after the Qualifiers.


Bhim Sharki, who didn’t feature in a single match during Nepal’s ODI and T20I Series, has been ignored. Kushal Bhurtel, Jitendra Mukhiya and Sushan Bhari Shrestha were other three reserve players in the team.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard