logo of cricketingnepal.com

Blistering Bhandari puts Army in third consecutive final

Jun 05, 2019 | CN Staff |

Binod Bhandari's blistering half-century helped Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) register a thumping 117-run win over Province No3 and advanced into the third consecutive final of the Prime Minister Cup on Wednesday. 

After being asked to bat first, Army posted a mammoth 309-6 in 50 overs. Paras Khadka-led Province 3 could only muster 192-9 in 50 overs. TAC will face either Nepal Police Club or Armed Police Force in the final on Saturday. The second semi-final is on Thursday.

Binod, Kushal Malla and Karan KC pressed the accelator button for Army as they went on to add 104 runs in the last 10 overs losing just a wicket. Binod played gem of an innings with unbeaten 42-ball 75 laced with five fours and as many sixes. 

Kushal slammed two sixes and a four on his way to scoring 17-ball 26 while Karan scored 21 off 14 balls with two fours and a six. 

Earlier, opening batsmen Raju Rijal and Harekrishna Jha (12) tackled the tough condition with 23-run opening stand from 67 balls. Raju scored well-composed half-century with 86-ball 51 consisiting of two sixes and four boundaries. 

Rohit Kumar Paudel smashed four boundaries and a six in his 35-ball 43 while Hari Bahadur Chauhan scored 38 runs from 37 balls with same number of fours and six. Rajesh Pulami also added 29 runs from 39 balls for the winning side.

Nandav Yadav returned the figures of 2-41 in his 10 overs while Jitendra Thakuri ended with the figures of 2-47 in 10 overs. Paras Khadka (1-53) and Sonu Devkota (1-70) also picked a wicket apiece.

Shahab Alam picked three wickets in his 10 overs giving away 27 runs. Karan KC returned the figures of 2-40 in his eight overs. Sushan Bhari was also very economical with the figures of 1-27 in his 10 overs. Kushal (1-34) and Rohit (1-30) also picked a wicket each.

Ishan Pandey did his best with 117-ball 79 laced with four sixes and three fours. Gyanendra Malla added 26 runs from 33 balls that included two fours and a six. Paras hits three fours for his 16-ball 19. Likewise, Nandan Yadav (18)* and Aadil Khan (15) were other two batters to score in double-digit for the losing side.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard