logo of cricketingnepal.com

Province 5 beat Gandaki by three-wicket in last-over thriller

Jun 03, 2019 | CN Staff |
Gandaki Province's Anil Gurung's century ended on losing side as Saurav Khanal and Anil Kharel guided Province No.5 to three-wicket win on the last over thriller of Prime Minister Cup 2019 on Monday. 

Electing to bat first, Anil anchored Gandaki to 234-10 in 49.2 overs. Then 92-run stand between Saurav and Pranit Thapa Magar helped Province 5 to reach 235-7 with one ball to spare.

Despite of the win, Province 5 couldn't make it to the semi-final as they are situated in the third spot with five points from four matches. Gandaki are yet to win a match in this tournament with one more match remaining.

Chasing the target, Saurav shared match-winning 122-ball 92 stand with Pranit. Player-of-the-match Saurav top scored for Province 5 with 90 runs off 112 balls that included 12 hits to the fence. Pranit also contributed worthy 66-ball 45 laced with five fours. Nischal Chaudhary added 33 runs from 51 balls which included four boundaries. 

Opener Sandeep Sunar hits three fours for his 23-ball 17. Skipper Krishan Karki (13) and Shubhendu Pandey (11) also contributed in double-digit for the winning side.

Kishor Mahato returned the figures of 2-61 in his nine overs while Govinda Pradhan ended with 1-25 in his seven overs. Similarly, Dipesh Shrestha (1-48) and Bishal Paudel (1-40) also picked a wicket each.

Earlier, Anil scored composed century with 152-ball 115 consisting of five fours and a six. He shared 54-run opening stand with skipper Govinda -- who scored 26 off 41 balls that included two fours and a six. Dipesh slammed two sixes and a four on his way to scoring 20-ball 28. Likewise, Kishor played quick-cameo of 7-ball 20 laced with three sixes. 

Mekh Sen (23) and Suma Ghimire (13) also scored in two-figure for the losing side.

Anil Kharel took care of Gandaki's batting line-up with the exceptional figures of 5-28 in his 9.2 overs. Bikram Bhusal (2-51) and Krishna Karki (2-56) also picked two wickets each for Province 5.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard