logo of cricketingnepal.com

Dipendra picks five as Police beat Province 2

Jun 02, 2019 | CN Staff |
Dipendra Singh Airee's second five wicket-haul of the tournament helped Nepal Police Club (NPC) to crush Province No.2 by 156-runs and topped their group with four consecutive wins in the Prime Minister Cup 2019 on Sunday.

Electing to bat first, NPC posted 253-9 in 50 overs after Amit Shrestha scored a quick half-century. Dipendra then picked five-wicket to bundle-out Province 2 on 97 runs in 29 overs.

The Police's opener, Sunil Dhamal and Anil Kumar Sah, gave a good start with 87-run opening stand. Sunil was dismissed by Kumar Thapa on 43 runs off 77 balls that included three fours. Similarly, Anil added 37 runs from 50 balls with two fours. Amit top scored for the winning side with 42-ball 50 that included five fours and a six. 

Kushal Bhurtel also contributed 35 runs from 32 deliveries with a six and four boundaries. Aarif hits three fours for his 45-ball 32. Dipendra (18) and Pawan Sarraf (13) were other two batsmen to score in double-digit for the Police.

Samsad Sheikh return the figures of 4-41 in his 10 overs while Rashid Khan ended with 2-40 in his six overs. Mehboob Alam (1-13), Divyanshu Mallick (1-36) and Kumar Thapa (1-59) also picked a wicket each.

Then, Dipendra dismantled Province 2's batting with the figures of 5-28 in his 10 overs. This is the second five wicket-haul of the tournament for Dipendra, as he had already picked 5-26 against Province 1 earlier in the tournament. Lalit Rajbanshi once again returned the fine figures of 3-21 in his six overs that included three maiden overs. 
Hari Shankar Shah and Ravi Sah's 41-run stand for the second wicket was only the major partnership for the losing side. Hari scored 35-ball 29 with four boundaries while Ravi added 15 runs off 37 balls with a four. Skipper Mehboob slammed three sixes on his way to scoring 16-ball 21. Suraj Patel (12) was another man to score in double digits for Province 2.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard