logo of cricketingnepal.com

Aarif, Lalit shine as the Police remain unbeaten

Jun 01, 2019 | CN Staff |
Aarif Sheikh and Lalit Rajbanshi guided Nepal Police Club (NPC) to the semi-final of Prime Minister Cup 2019 with a 50-run win against Armed Police Force (APF) at TU cricket ground on Saturday.

NPC ended with 161 allout in 48.4 overs after being asked to bat first. Then, they kept it tight and restricted the Army on 111-10 in 43.3 overs.

This is the first lose of the tournament for the Army while the Police is still unbeaten with three wins out of three.

Skipper Manjeet Shrestha top scored for the Police with unbeaten 36 runs off 62 balls that included three fours and a six. Aarif Sheikh added 34 runs from 54 balls with two fours. National team's dependable batsman, Dipendra Airee, smashed two fours and a six on his way to scoring 49-ball 29. Dilip Nath (14) and Anil Kumar Sah (13) also contributed in double-digit for the winning team.

Army's Shahab Alam was the best bowler of the day with the figures of 4-30 in his 10 overs. He dismissed Anil, Dipendra, Dilip and Kushal Bhurtel (five) in his hard-fought spell which ended on the losing side. Karan KC picked two wickets in his 9.4 overs giving away 36 runs.

In reply, the Police made it very tough with wickets on regular intervals. 28-run stand between Hari Bahadur Chauhan and Rohit Kumar Paudel for the fifth wicket was the highest partnership of the day. Hari holds the one end with 97-ball 34 with two fours while Rohit scored 16 off 37 balls. Opening batsman Raju also added 16 runs from 27 balls with two fours. 

Jitendra Mukhiya smashed one four and six each in his 7-ball 12's innings while Sushan Bhari remained unbeaten in his 34-ball 10. 

Lalit returned the match-winning figures of 3-31 in his 8.3 overs. Player-of-the-match Aarif picked two wickets in his seven overs giving away just 18 runs. Dipendra was also on tune with the figures of 2-21 in his 10 overs that included five maidens. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard