logo of cricketingnepal.com

Raju, Sushan power Army to huge win

May 28, 2019 | CN Staff |
Unbeaten Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) outplayed winless Karnali Province to make it three win out of three matches in Prime Minister Cup 2019 on Tuesday at Mulpani Cricket Ground.

The Army posted 290-9 in 50 overs after being asked to bat first. Then, Karnali could only muster to 173 allout in 35.1 overs and faced 117 runs defeat.

Army's openers Raju Rijal and Harikrishna Jha laid strong foundation with 132-run opening stand. Player-of-the-match Raju smashed 10 fours on his way to scoring 78-ball 66. His opening pair, Harikrishna went on to score 52 runs from 100 balls with four hits to the fence. 

Rohit Kumar Paudel shared 67-run partnership with Karan KC for the sixth wicket. Rohit hits 56 runs from 51 balls which included four boundaries. Karan scored 26-ball 28 hitting two fours and a six. Lokendra Chand (16 off 8) and Shahab Alam (16 off 10) accelerated the innings with two fours and a six each. Hari Bahadur Chauhan (11) was another man to score in double-digit for the winning side.

Lalit Pyakurel led the charge for Karnali with the figures of 5-63 in his nine over of bowling spell. He dismissed Raju, Hari, Karan, Kushal Malla (two) and Sushan Bhari (zero) on his way to pick second fifer of this tournament. Skipper Rabindra Jung Shahi (2-62) picked two wickets while Prakash Jaisi (1-49) finished with a wicket to his name.

Chasing the target, Karnali never looked like reaching anywhere near to the target as they kept losing wickets in regular interval. Sushan freezed Karnali's middle-order with the figures of 4-36 in his nine overs. Karan and Shahab were also excellent with 2-15 and 2-8 respectively. 

Opener Sushant Thapa top scored for Karnali with 31 off 35 balls that included five fours. Lalit shone with the bat as well, scoring run-of-ball 28 with three fours and a six. Diwan Pun and Unish Singh also scored 26 and 20 runs respectively.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard