logo of cricketingnepal.com

Queen's holds first ever draft of Nepali players

May 14, 2019 | CN Staff |

Queen's Event Management Pvt Ltd on Tuesday held Nepal's first ever draft of athletes when five city-based franchises bought 11 players each for the upcoming Women's Champions League.

The Twenty20 tournament is scheduled to begin from September 20-28 at the TU Stadium with five teams battling out for the title. A total of 107 cricketers were registered for the draft where they were classified into four categories – Diamond, Rubies, Sapphire and Wild Card.


In the draft, the players are paid according to the salary slot set by the organisers according to their categories. The franchises named first in the lucky draw are given the opportunity to pick the players of their choice.


Each franchise took two players from Diamond category with Lalitpur Falcos acquiring the services of Karuna Bhandari and Mamata Chaudhary. The Diamond category had a salary pocket of Rs 75,000. Rubies and Sapphire have salary slots of Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively. The teams were given a total purse of Rs 500,000.


Falcons, who play in the Everest Premier League as Lalitpur Patriots, have Sarita Diswa Magar and Roshani Bohora as players from Rubies category. They saved Rs 75,000 from their total purse. Falcons have Nary Thapa as the marquee player and Srijana Joshi is their owner.


Kabita Kunwar and Bindu Rawal were bought by Pokhara Paltan from Diamond category. National team vice-captain Sita Rana Magar is their marquee player and Binayak Pokharel is the team owner. Anuradha Chaudhary and Anjali Chand are their Rubies players.


New national team entrant Aarati Bidari and returning Sonu Khadka went to Biratnagar Titans whose marquee player is Sarita Magar. Former national team wicketkeeper Jyoti Pandey, Dolly Bhatt, Sabnam Rai, Pratikshya Basyal and Laxmi Chaudhary were picked up from the Rubies category. Former men's national team cricketer Paras Luniya is the owner of the Titans.


Kajol Shrestha and Ritu Kanojiya were the two Diamond players in Chitwan Rhinos squad who have Indu Barma as the marquee and Mingma Dandu Sherpa is the team owner. Rekha Rawal and Santoshi Chaudhary are the two Rubies players. Paltan, Titans and Rhinos are Pokhara Premier League franchises.


Kat Queens Kathmandu, who play in the Everest Premier League as Pokhara Rhinos, has national team skipper Rubina Chhetri as the marquee player. Apsari Begam and Roma Thapa are their Diamond players, while Rashmi Sharma Chaulagain, Saraswati Chaudhary and Mamta Thapa were taken from the Rubies category.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard