logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal's League 2 campaign kicks off hosting USA, Oman at home

May 08, 2019 | CN Staff |

Nepal have been confirmed to host their first tri-series under the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 Series welcoming the United States of America (USA) and Oman at the TU grounds early next year.

The World Cup League 2 Series is a new tournament launched by the International Cricket Council replacing the ICC World Cricket League Championship which was the pathway to the 2019 World Cup. The League 2 also serves a pathway to the 2023 World Cup to be hosted by India.

The seven-team League 2 will see each teams playing with each other six times for a total of 36 One Day Internationals and after the completion of the league, the top three teams will make it to the 2022 World Cup Qualifier. The bottom four will have to make it through the World Cup Qualifier playoffs which will be joined by the winners from the World Cup Challenge A and B.

Nepal's tri-series against the USA and Oman is slated for February 5-12. Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Namibia and the United Arab Emirates are the other four teams in the League 2.

While Nepal, Scotland and the UAE earned ODI status through the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe last year, PNG, USA and Oman achieved the feat through the recently concluded ICC World Cricket League Division 2 held in Namibia.

After the tri-series at home, Nepal will travel to Namibia and will be joined by Scotland for the second tournament that kicks off from April 20-27 in Windhoek Namibia. Their next tri-series is scheduled in PNG from June 9-16 and will include the UAE.

Here are the other fixtures for Nepal in League 2

June, 2020    Scotland-Nepal-Namibia

January, 2021          Oman-USA-Nepal

February, 2021        Nepal-UAE-PNG

August, 2021           Nepal-USA-Oman

November, 2021     Nepal-Namibia-Scotland

January, 2021          UAE-PNG-Nepal  


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard