logo of cricketingnepal.com

Thailand thorn for Nepal again

Feb 21, 2019 | CN Staff |

Nepal's aspirations of playing in the 2019 ICC World Twenty20 and 50-over World Cup Global Qualifier was dealt a huge blow after they once crashed to a defeat at the hands of Thailand in the ICC Women's Qualifier Asia on Thursday.

At the Asian Institute of Technology grounds in Bangkok, Nepal lost by 57 runs – another big victory against the Thai team which had crushed Nepal by 70 runs in the Thailand Women's Twenty20 Smash last month.

Electing to bat first, decent contributions from the middle order including Narueomol Chaiwai and Chanida Sutthiruang lifted Thailand to a mammoth 124-7 in 20 overs.

Nepal had a disastrous start at 8-3 after losing openers Kajol Shrestha, Roman Thapa and skipper Rubina Chhetri. The 46-run fourth wicket stand between Indu Barma and Sita Rana Magar only served as a face saver as Nepal could only manage 67-8 in 20 overs.

Indu topscored for Nepal with a 44-ball 29 hitting one boundary with Sita making 18 off 34 with one hit to the fence. Sornarin Tippoch took two wickets for Thailand.

Earlier, Chaiwai made a bulk of scoring in her 37-run opening wicket partnership with Nattakan Chantam (five). Chaiwai struck a 27-ball 32 hitting three boundaries and was first two depart. Former skipper Nary Thapa removed Chantam and Nattaya Boochatam (12) reducing Thailand to 63-3 in 12 overs. But Thailand recovered well with Sutthiruang who shared 32 runs with Wongpaka Liengprasert who pushed the team's total.

Sutthiruang made 35 off 29 with three fours, while Liengprasert chipped in a 27-ball 28 with one boundary. Karuna Bhandari also took two wickets for Nepal.

In a seven-team tournament where only the winner will make it to the Global Qualifier, defeating Thailand was a must for Nepal.  


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard