logo of cricketingnepal.com

Begam new face as Nepal name women's squad

Feb 14, 2019 | CN Staff |

Apsari Begam was the only change as Nepal on Friday announced their 14-member final squad for the ICC Women Twenty20 World Cup Asia Regional Qualifier.

The Asia Regional Qualifier begins from February 18-27 where seven teams will vie for the only available spot for the Women Twenty20 Global Qualifier.

Begam makes her way into the national side for the first time, replacing Dolly Bhatta in the squad. Nepal had claimed second position in the recently held Thailand Women’s T20 Smash losing to hosts Thailand in the final.

Thailand, Nepal, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates are seven participating nations where they will face each in the round robin league with the team finishing at the top making it to the Global Qualifier.

The Global Qualifier is the gateway to ICC Women Twenty20 World Cup 2020 and ICC 50-over Cricket World Cup of 2021.

Nepal are leaving for Thailand on Saturday with their first match set for February 19 against Malaysia. Rubina Chhetri is retained as the team skipper with Sita Rana Magar playing the role of vice-captain.

Players are selected on the basis of their performance from closed-camp which took place at TU Stadium. Apart from Begam, rest of the squad that competed in the Thailand Women's Twenty20 Smash was retained.  

Nepali final squad

Rubina Chhetri (C)

Sita Rana Magar (VC)

Karuna Bhandari

Sarita Magar

Nary Thapa

Aarati Bidari

Roma Thapa

Kajal Shrestha

Indu Barma

Sonu Khadka

Kabita Kunwar

Apsari Begam

Mamata Kumari Chaudhary

Bindu Rawal


Reserve Players

Ritu Kumari Kanujiya

Suman Bista

Anjali Chanda

Dolly Bhatta


Support Staff

Amrita Paudel (Manager)

Binod Kumar Das (Coach)

Neera Rajopadhyaya (Assistant Coach) 

Sakuna Dani (Physio)


Nepal’s Schedule

Feb-19 (Nepal vs Malaysia)

Feb-21 (Nepal vs Thailand)

Feb-22 (Nepal vs UAE)

Feb-24 (Nepal vs Hong Kong)

Feb-25 (Nepal vs China)

Feb-27 (Nepal vs Kuwait)


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard