logo of cricketingnepal.com

Attariya stun Stars in Patel, Bhuwan fireworks

Feb 12, 2019 | CN Staff |

CYC Attariya stunned two-time defending champions Dhangadhi Stars by five runs to make a brilliant comeback with the ball in their first match of the Dhangadhi Premier League at the Fapla Cricket Grounds on Tuesday.

The tough morning conditions offered a lot for the bowlers and Stars put their foot right restricting Attariya to 95-5 in 20 overs. Sunny Patel's 28-ball 35 was crucial in taking them close to triple figures.

Patel returned and took two early wickets apart from taking four catches -- one off his own bowling -- and Bhuwan Karki derailed the middle order restricting Stars to 90-5 in 20 overs. Stars, who had lost to Kathmandu Goldens by four wickets on Monday, didn't have the best of the start losing opener Sunil Dhamala (four) and Amit Shrestha (duck) in consecutive deliveries to Patel.

Stars were still in the game until skipper Dipendra Singh Airee bowled Rohan Mustafa as the struggle began for them. The spin attack continued to strangulate Stars after Bhuwan took four wickets in the middle order including that of Pawan Sarraf (duck) and Sompal Kami (10).

Stars needed 18 runs from the last over from Kamal Singh Airee and Raju Rijal raised some hopes hitting the medium pacer for a four in the first and six in the third delivery. But Kamal held firm to concede just two runs in the next three balls winning the game for Attariya.

Raju made a run-a-ball 26 with a six and a four. Mustafa made 18 off 27 with two hits to the fence. Sandeep Rajali (11) and Kushal Bhurtel (10) were their next best scorers. Bhuwan returned the figures of 4-10 from four overs and man-of-the-match Patel took 2-17 from four.

Attariya had similar pattern initially but their batsmen managed to glue to the crease and Patel guided to what ultimately was a winning total. Patel's innings included two sixes and two fours. Jaykishan Kolsawala was the next best scorer with 21 off 26 with a six and a four. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard