logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sharad's United Dhangadhi Premier League favourties?

Feb 09, 2019 | CN Staff |

The Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League is around the corner as six franchises battle for country’s highest cash-prized cricket tournament at the Fapla Cricket Ground from Monday. The most popular Twenty20 league of Nepal offers a cash prize of Rs 3 million but it would be a Herculean task for every team to get to the summit.

While the inclusion of foreign recruits has spiced up the tournament more, the intense competition itself among the domestic cricketers has made DPL a contest worth watching. In this segment, Roshan Dhital talks about three strongest contenders of DPL.


Mahendranagar United

With a youthful squad, Sharad Vesawkar-led Mahendranagar United can be considered the tournament favourties. A strong-looking United batting line up consists of Sharad himself along with Aarif Sheikh, Rohit Kumar Paudel and Siddhant Lohani. Their bowling attack is be led by UAE pace bowling spearhead Mohammad Naveed and will be followed by in-form Abinash Bohora, who bagged player of the series award in recently concluded Twenty20 International series against the UAE. The spin attack of Shahab Alam and Sagar Dhakal can do wonders to stem the run flow.

SQUAD -: Sharad Vesawkar (capt), Aarif Sheikh, Rohit Kumar Puadel, Abinash Bohora, Amar Singh Routela, Sagar Dhakal, Dilip Nath, Siddhant Lohani, Shahab Alam, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Chand, Santosh Bhatta, Sushil Khadka

Overseas -: Mohammad Naveed


Rupandehi Challengers

Basanta Regmi’s Challengers became the most expensive side after it paid penalty for the purchase of Nepali cricket’s next big thing Bhim Sharki. Along with Bhim, Lalit Singh Bhandari and Binod Bhandari are the Challengers players who were bought for maximum bid price. The decent batting line up of Challengers include Bhandari, Bhim, Pradeep Airee and Sandeep Sunar, while the Hong Kong juggernaut Babar Hayat would be the biggest asset for them. Lalit will lead their pace bowling attack while skipper Basanta will take charge of the spin attack.

Squad –: Basant Regmi (capt), Lalit Bhandari, Binod Bhandari, Bhim Sharki, Pradeep Airee, Sandeep Sunar, Krishna Karki, Sumit Maharjan, Bikram Sob, Puran BK, Anil Kharel, Suraj Darai, Sher Malla.

Overseas -: Babar Hayat,


Kathmandu Goldens

Nepali national cricket team’s vice captain Gyanendra Malla-led Goldens are also one of the title contenders of the tournament. Gyanendra himself will lead his side’s batting line-up which is bolstered by Indian prolific opener Gaurav Tomar. He was also the part of Gyanendra’s Kathmandu Royals squad in the Pokhara Premier League and played a crucial role in handing Lalitpur Patriots the Everest Premier League title. Rashid Khan and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi will be their frontline bowlers. Anil Kumar Sah might open with Tomar, while Sonu Tamang will be their hard hitter.

Squad -: Gyanendra Malla, Lalit Rajbanshi, Rashid Khan, Anil Kumar Sah, Bikram Bhusal, Yogendra Karki, Sonu Tamang, Surya Tamang, Mehboob Alam, Nandan Yadav, Sudhir Chaudhary, Avinav Yadav, Bikram Thagunna

Overseas -: Ankit Dabas, Gaurav Tomar


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard