logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal win maiden Twenty20 International Series

Feb 03, 2019 | CN Staff |

Karan KC's excellent performance led Nepal to a historical 14-run win against United Arab Emirates (UAE) to seal three-match Twenty20 International Series 2-1 on Sunday at the ICC Academy Oval.

Nepal posted an imposing 104-8 after they lost toss in a game reduced to 10 oves due to rain. Karan, Abinash Bohora and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi took two wickets each to restrict the hosts to 90-8 in 10

This is the first instance where Nepal have won a bilateral Twenty20 International series in their second attempt. The first was against Netherlands back in 2015. Nepal had sealed their first ever ODI series last week -- beating UAE in a similar fashion in a three-match ODI series.

UAE skipper Mohammad Naveed bowled superbly in the first over taking a maiden returning the miserly figures of 2-6 in two. His masterpiece bowling pushed Nepal to backfoot at 21-3 in the fourth over before skipper Paras Khadka shared 14-ball 33-run stand with Sandeep Jora.

Paras -- who opened the batting -- topped Nepal's batting card with 29 runs from 14 deliveries including a six and four boundaries. Jora propelled the innings with another 37 runs off just 16 balls with Binod Bhandari for the fifth wicket.

Jora contributed 28 runs from 11 balls in an innings comprising of three hits over the fence. Binod's 13- ball 21 was laced with two fours and a six. Karan also slammed a six on his way to score 10 runs from 5 balls while vice-captain Gyanendra Malla chipped in with 9-ball 11.

Amir Hayat also returned the figures of 2-16 in his two overs.

Defending 104 runs, Nepal gave away 58-2 on half way stage but pulled it back in last five overs giving away just 32 runs and accounting for six wickets. Karan, Avinash, Lalit shared five wickets them in the last three overs conceding just 18 runs.

Player-of-the-match Karan returned the figures of 2-13 in his two while Avinash and Lalit ended up with identical figures of 2-16 from two each. Avinash -- who was introduced to international cricket through this series -- bagged the player of the series for his six wickets in three matches giving away just 72 runs in 10 overs.

Pace bowling spearhead Sompal Kami took one wicket and conceded 21 runs. Sandeep Lamichhane -- who was hit for 20 runs in first over -- came back in style and finished with 1-23 from two overs. He stopped the hosts’ run flow in the sixth over leaking just three runs and taking a wicket.

In-form batsman Shaiman Anwar scored 30 runs from 20 balls including two fours and as many sixes. Wicket-keeper batsman Ghulam Shabber added 15-ball 25 that consisted of three fours and a six while Muhammad Boota chipped in with 11 runs from nine balls hitting a boundary.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard