logo of cricketingnepal.com

Dhangadhi Premier League gets ICC approval

Jan 23, 2019 | CN Staff |

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday gave green signal to the Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL).

The third edition of one of the most exciting contest of the domestic cricket is set to begin from February 9 at the Fapla Cricket Grounds in Dhangadhi. Organisers Dhangadhi Cricket Academy (DCA) informed about the approval from world cricket’s supreme body through a press release.

The DPL has made mandatory for all the six participating franchises to include two foreign recruits. The international players require a No Objection Letter from their respective boards which can only be provided after the ICC sanctions the targeted tournament.

Sunny Patel and Jaykishan Kolsawala are the two international cricketers confirmed for this season after the two players agreed a deal with CYC Attariya. Dhangadhi Stars, Mahendranagar United, Biratnagar Kings, Rupandehi Challengers and Kathmandu Goldens are the five other franchises participating in the tournament.

Stars, previously known as Team Chauraha Dhangadhi, are the two-time defending champions of DPL. Each team has already bought 10 players from the recently held auction programme and one local player was picked up through the talent hunt.

With marquee players already confirmed prior to the auction, the teams are left to announce their international signings. The Twenty20 tournament will send the top four teams after the round robin league into the playoffs.

The first and second placed team will meet in the first Qualifier from where the winners will directly make it to the final. The losing side will have another shot at the final taking on the winners of the Eliminator match between third and fourth placed teams.



{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard