logo of cricketingnepal.com

Hard work pays off as four youngsters in Nepal squad

Jan 20, 2019 | CN Staff |
Pawan Sarraf, Bhim Sharki, Sandeep Jora and Avinash Bohora were paid off for their recent impressive performances in domestic cricket as all four youngsters were named in Nepal's final 16-member squad for the upcoming tour of the UAE. 

Nepal are taking on UAE in a three-match each One Day International and Twenty20 International Series beginning from February 25. ICC Academy Oval Ground in Dubai will host all six matches.

While Pawan was the star performer for champions Lalitpur Patriots in the recently concluded Everest Premier League with his allround abilities, right arm seamer Avinash played a crucial role in Bhairahawa Gladiators' journey into the final. 

Bhim – widely known as Jonty -- has been performing extremely well in domestic as well as age level cricket and finally got his first national team call up. Jora, who also played for Patriots, has proved himself as a handy contributor in the Twenty20 format. 

Pawan and Bhim were sold for a maximum bid price of Rs 250,000 for the upcoming Dhangadhi Premier League.  

Meanwhile, middle order batsman Sharad Vesawkar has withdrawn his name from squad due to illness. He will take rest for around 3-4 weeks due to Vitamin D deficiency. 

Exciting left arm seam bowler Lalit Singh Bhandari was left out. Lalit has 30 wickets from 16 matches in 2018 (including EPL, 
DPL and PPL).

Along with Lalit, Sushan Bhari Shrestha and Bikram Sob were named reserve. The player's were picked up by a three-member independent selection committee headed by ICC Representative Aminul Islam and includes head coach Jagat Tamata and captain Paras Khadka. 

Ace leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane – who played his last Bangladesh Premier League’s match – is coming back to Nepal on Monday to join the team. The Nepali cricket team is leaving for UAE on January 22. 

Nepali squad 
1. Paras Khadka (Captain)
2. Gyanendra Malla (Vice Captain)
3. Abinash Bohara
4. Basant Regmi
5. Bhim Sharki
6. Binod Bhandari
7. Dipendra Singh Airee
8. Karan KC
9. Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi
10. Md. Arif Sheikh
11. Pawan Sarraf
12. Pradeep Airee
13. Rohit Kumar Paudel
14. Sandeep Lamichhane
15. Sompal Kami
16. Sundeep Jora

Reserve Players
1. Lalit Bhandari
2. Sushan Bhari
3. Bikram Sob

Nepal Tour Of UAE Schedule

January 22                                        Travel to UAE

January 23                                                    Practice session

January 24                                                    Practice session

January 25                First ODI

January 26                Second ODI

January 27                                                    Rest

January 28                Third ODI

January 29                                                    Rest

January 30                                                    Practice session

January 31                First Twenty20

February 01              Second Twenty20

February 02                                                  Rest

February 03              Third Twenty20

February 04                                      Return back to Nepal


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard