logo of cricketingnepal.com

Familiar Naveed to lead UAE against Nepal in ODI, Twenty20 Series

Jan 10, 2019 | CN Staff |

The Emirates Cricket Board has named experienced fast bowler Mohammad Naveed as their captain for the upcoming One Day and Twenty International Series against Nepal beginning from January 25 in Dubai.

Naveed holds a haul of experience against Nepali players as the fast bowling allrounder has already played in Nepali franchise leagues -- Pokhara Premier League and recently concluded Everest Premier League. He had taken 12 wickets in Everest Premier League and seven in Pokhara Premier League.

Naveed is leading the 16-man UAE squad in absence of regular skipper Rohan Mustafa who is on an eight-week suspension from the Emirates Cricket Board under disciplinary grounds. UAE will also be without their two other regulars Ahmed Raza and Rameez Shehzad who were also suspended along with Mustafa.

UAE Chief Selector Waleed Bukhatir said they are looking ahead for an exciting contest between the two Asian Associate rivals. "We are delighted to welcome Nepal to the UAE for this ODI series, and we expect a strong performance from our team under the captaincy of Naveed,” Bukhatir told The National.

According to Bukhatir, the matches will  be livestreamed. The details of livestreaming platform are yet to get disclosed. The ODI Series will begin from January 25 at the ICC Academy in Dubai with the Twenty20 Series set for January 31 to February 3.

UAE Squad

Mohammed Naveed (captain), Mohamed Usman (vice captain), Ashfaq Ahmed, Chirag Suri, Shaiman Anwar, Mohammed Boota, Ghulam Shabber, Imran Haider, Tahir Mughal, Amir Hayat, Zahoor Khan, Qadeer Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Abdul Shakoor, Sultan Ahmed, CP Rizwan

Nepal Tour Of UAE Schedule

  • January 22                                        Travel to UAE
  • January 23                                                    Practice session
  • January 24                                                    Practice session
  • January 25                First ODI
  • January 26                Second ODI
  • January 27                                                    Rest
  • January 28                Third ODI
  • January 29                                                    Rest
  • January 30                                                    Practice session
  • January 31                First Twenty20
  • February 01              Second Twenty20
  • February 02                                                  Rest
  • February 03              Third Twenty20
  • February 04                                      Return back to Nepal


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard