logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal's Twenty20 Smash squad to have four new faces

Jan 09, 2019 | CN Staff |
Nepal announced their final squad for the Thailand Women’s T20 Smash with the inclusion of four new faces in the national team. 

The Twenty20 Smash begins from January 12-18 where 10 teams will vie for the title in a tournament organised by Cricket Association of Thailand. 

Dolly Bhatta, Kabita Kunwar, Bindu Rawal and Aarati Bidari were the four new names roped in for the tournament which will serve as the teams' preparation for the upcoming ICC Women's Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier Asia scheduled for February 18-27 -- also in Thailand.

The winners of the Asia Qualifier after a round robin league will make it to the Global Qualifier of ICC Women's Twenty20 World Cup and ICC Women's Cricket World Cup in 2020. The Twenty20 Smash is going to be Nepal's first international tournament after they participated in last year's ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifying Series Asia Region in Thailand last year.

In the Twenty20 Smash, Nepal are pitted against Kuwait, Namibia, Tanzania and Indonesia. The top two teams from each pool will make it to the semi-finals. The other pool consists of hosts Thailand, Sri Lankan Navy, Malaysia, Hong Kong and Bhutan. 

Nepal will fly to Thailand on January 11 with their first match set for January 12 against Tanzania. Nepal will face Namibia on January 14 followed by matches against Indonesia and Kuwait on January 15 and 16 respectively.

Skipper Rubina Chhetri will lead the Nepali team with Sita Rana Magar playing the role of vice-captain.  The players are selected on the basis of their performance from a closed-camp which took place at TU Stadium. 

The Final 15-member Squad
Rubina Chhetri (C)
Sita Rana Magar (VC)
Karuna Bhandari
Sarita Magar
Nary Thapa
Indu Barma
Sonu Khadka
Aarati Bidari
Kajal Shrestha
Roma Thapa
Kabita Kunwar
Dolly Bhatta
Mamta Kumari Chaudhary
Bindu Rawal

Reserve Players’ list
Ritu Kumari Kanujiya
Suman Bist
Sabnam Rai

Support Staff
Amrita Paudel (Manager)
Binod Kumar Das (Coach)
Sakuna Dani (Physio)


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard