logo of cricketingnepal.com

Clueless Karnali concede huge defeat against TAC

Jan 09, 2019 | CN Staff |
Binod Bhandari struck his first domestic century and Bhim Sharki continued to impress as Tribhuwan Army Club smashed Karnali Province by 249 runs in their second match of the Manmohan Memorial Cup One Day National in Inaruwa on Wednesday.

Batting first, Bhandari’s 65-ball 103 propelled TAC to 314 all out in 47.2 overs. Karnali were bundled out for a tournament-low 65 in just 25.5 overs. 

Bhandari, who has been opening the innings, led from the front clubbing 13 boundaries and three sixes.  Bhim did the rest of the job scoring 96 from 110 runs, a day after he scored a run-a-ball 71 against Province 3

The victory meant TAC have entered the semi-finals with second consecutive victory, while Karnali and Province 3 are out from the league stage. In a tournament where only the pool topper reach the semi-finals from each three-team pool, Province 3 had already lost to Army a day earlier.  

Hare Krishna Jha also contributed to the TAC total with a 41-ball 40, while Bikram Sob chipped in 35 off 39 deliveries. Raju Rijal (nine), Rajesh Pulami (six) and Rohit Kumar Paudel (two) were other big names who failed on this occasion.

Yuvraj KC was the pick of the Karnali bowlers taking 3-51 from 10 overs. Chandra BC and Diwan Pun also picked two wickets each. Prakash Jaisi and Raj Kumar Shah had one scalp apiece. 

Chasing a mammoth total, Karnali never looked like reaching the finishing line as they kept on losing wickets on regular succession. Kushal Malla took four wickets for TAC bowling effectively with the figures of 4-16 from 8.4 overs with two maiden. 

Shahab Alam, who took four wickets a day earlier, returned the figures of 3-8 from four overs. Bikram Sob and Hari Bahadur Chauhan also picked a wicket each.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard