logo of cricketingnepal.com

Karan, Sharad, Basanta three new strategic players in DPL

Jan 05, 2019 | CN Staff |

National team fast bowling allrounder Karan KC, veteran spinner Basant Regmi and middle order mainstay Sharad Vesawkar have been named as the new strategic players of the three teams in the upcoming Dhangadhi Premier League.

Biratnagar Kings appointed Karan as their strategic who now might lead the franchise in absence of national team skipper Paras Khadka. Paras is not playing the third edition of DPL due to personal reasons.

Basanta will take the hot seat of Rupandehi Challengers who previously had Shakti Gauchan as their skipper. Gauchan has now retired from all forms of cricket.

Sharad replaced Vesawkar in the Mahendranagar United after the franchise decided to offload hard-hitting batsman Binod Bhandari. Sharad had not played last edition of tournament due to family commitment.

When Sharad last played the DPL, he had guided Biratnagar Kings to the final of the first edition. United had made it to the second Qualifier last year under Bhandari. 

Rest of the marquee players for the third edition remain the same. Sompal Kami will take charge of Dhangadhi Stars – previously known as Team Chauraha Dhangadhi – the two-time DPL champions. Dipendra Singh Airee will continue to remain with CYC Attariya and Gyanendra Malla will be leading Kathmandu Goldens.

The third edition of country’s first ever auction-based Twenty20 franchise tournament is beginning from February 9 at the Fapla Cricket Ground.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard