logo of cricketingnepal.com

Young quartet sneaks in as prelim squad for UAE series announced

Dec 31, 2018 | CN Staff |

Young quartet of Pawan Sarraf, Avinash Bohora, Sandeep Jora and Bhim Sharki made the cut as a 20-member preliminary squad on Monday was announced for Nepal's upcoming tour of UAE from January 25 to February 3. The tour will feature three-match One Day International and Twenty20 Series each. 

It will be Nepal's bilateral series after achieving ODI status earlier this year. Nepal had toured Netherlands for two-match ODI series in August where they squared the series 1-1 registering their first ever ODI victory. 

Avinash, who displayed excellent death bowling in recently concluded Everest Premier League, made it to the squad along with Pawan, Sandeep and Bhim who had performed in the last two domestic Twenty20 tournaments.  

Pawan was the second highest wicket taker in the EPL with 11 scalps and Sandeep had impressed with his cameos with both playing for eventual EPL champions Lalitpur Patriots. Bhim had struck two half centuries in the Pokhara Premier League and has so far looked impressive in the middle order. 

Sompal Kami – whose inclusion on squad was in doubt due to an ankle injury he sustained during the EPL – was also named, while Anil Sah was ignored following a series of low scores.

The closed-camp for Nepal will begin from January 8 at the TU grounds. The final squad will be announced after the closed-camp. The selection was done by an Independent Selection committee that consists of ICC representative Aminul Islam, national cricket team coach Jagat Tamata and skipper Paras  Khadka.

20 members squad selected for upcoming camp 

  • 1. Paras Khadka (Captain)
  • 2. Abhinash Bohara
  • 3. Basant Regmi
  • 4. Bhim Sharki
  • 5. Bikram Sob
  • 6. Binod Bhandari
  • 7. Dipendra Singh Airee
  • 8. Gyanendra Malla
  • 9. Karan KC
  • 10. Lalit Bhandari
  • 11. Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi
  • 12. Md. Arif Sheikh
  • 13. Pawan Sarraf
  • 14. Pradeep Airee
  • 15. Rohit Kumar Paudel
  • 16. Sandeep Lamichhane
  • 17. Sharad Vesawkar
  • 18. Sompal Kami
  • 19. Sundeep Jora
  • 20. Sushan Bhari


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard