logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sandeep shines with 3-24 but Stars lose again

Dec 24, 2018 | CN Staff |

Nepal's Sandeep Lamichhane has given yet another brilliant performance in the Australian Big Bash League although his team Melbourne Stars went on to lose second match in a row.

At the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Sandeep took 3-24 from four overs and was the only reason why Stars remained in game until the 19th over after they made 155-5 in 20 overs and ultimately lost to Hobart Hurricanes by six wickets.

Stars had also lost their first match of the tournament against Sydney Thunder by 15 runs under Duckworth/Lewis Method in a game where Sandeep had taken 2-36. The teen leggie bettered that performance on Monday although it came for a losing cause.

Skipper Matthew Wade and D'Archy Short led a perfect reply for Hurricanes adding 55 runs in the powerplays before Scott Boland. Short edged to wicketkeeper Ben Dunk after making 34 off 22 with two fours and a six. Skipper Glenn Maxwell introduced Sandeep in the sixth over and the leg spinner took no time to strike clean bowling new man Alex Doolan (two).

Sandeep conceded five runs in the first over and went wicketless in his second giving away six runs. New pair of Wade and Ben McDermott continued to play freely before Maxwell played his final card again bringing back Sandeep in the 14th over. Sandeep paid back for the faith drawing a top edge from Wade who handed a simple catch at short third man.

Wade scored 52 off 37 balls with five fours and a six. Sandeep was hit for eight runs in the same over but he returned in the next to avenge the six he was hit by McDermott. Sandeep trapped McDermott leg before wicket with a wrong one. George Bailey (28), however, easily sailed Hurricanes' ship with an 18-ball 27 that included two fours and a six.

Earlier, Maxwell struck five sixes to make 47 off 31 and Nick Larkin hit a 33-ball 45 with five boundaries steering the team across 150-run mark. Jofra Archer took three wickets for Hurricanes.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard