logo of cricketingnepal.com

Kushal shines, this time with ball, to put Gladiators in final

Dec 20, 2018 | CN Staff |
Kushal Malla shone for the second match in a row, but this time with the ball, as Bhairahawa Gladiators outplayed Kathmandu Kings XI by six wickets to reach the final of the Everest Premier League on Wednesday.

Kushal picked up three wickets to destroy Kings XI who were 100 all out in 20 overs after Gladiators elected to field first. Dutch signing Ryan ten Doeschate then scored a composed 45 leading the team to 102-4 in 17 overs.

Gladiators will now take on Gyanendra Malla-led Lalitpur Patriots in the final on Saturday. The final will give Gladiators captain Sharad an opportunity to win back-to-back title following his recent title triumph in the Pokhara Premier League. 

Electing to field first, man-of-the-match Kushal took 3-20 and Mohammad Naveed picked up 2-20 to fold Kings XI to a low total. Kushal's dismissal included Irish star Kevin O’Brien, Naresh Budhayer and opener Amit Shrestha. His dismissals came after Sharad had opened the floodgates getting rid of Kings XI skipper Rohan Mustafa (six). 

Sandeep Rajali who was added to Kings XI squad through talent hunt — scored maximum 26-ball 27 with a six and a four. He shared 33 runs for the fifth wicket with Pradeep Sahu who made 25 off 22, his innings including three hits to the fence. Opener Amit (13) was Kings XI's only remaining batsman to score runs in double figures. 

With a low target to chase, Gladiators were hardly in trouble despite losing opener Pradeep Airee (three) and Aarif Sheikh (seven) cheaply. Experienced Ten Doeschate anchored their innings with a 42-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Ravi Inder Singh. 

Ten Doeschate's 38-ball innings included five boundaries, while Ravi Inder's fluent 19-ball 31 comprised of three sixes and a four. Samsad Sheikh bagged two scalps of Gladiators and Sahu was economical in his 1-15 from four overs. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard