logo of cricketingnepal.com

Kings XI win first match, Tigers beaten again

Dec 10, 2018 | CN Staff |

Kathmandu Kings XI won their first match of the Everest Premier League (EPL) easing to a six wicket victory over Chitwan Tigers at the TU Stadium on Monday.

Electing to field first, Kings XI skipper Sompal Kami used seven bowlers including himself but Tigers still managed to make 160 all out in 19.5 overs. Kings XO, in reply, reached 164-4 in 18.5 overs with a majority of their top five contributing in team's victory, particularly Anand Subramanian wreaking havoc.

Sagar Pun and Amit Shrestha (18) began with a 36-run first wicket stand before the lost the latter and their big signing Kevin O'Brien (nine) of Ireland in a space of 17 runs. Sagar then added 37 runs for the third wicket with Naresh Budhayer (22) before losing his wicket to Paul Stirling. 

Sagar hit six boundaries in his 34-ball 39. After the departure of Naresh, Anand and Amar Singh Routela took the team across the finishing line with a 49-run unbeaten stand for the fifth wicket. 

Anand made 43 off 18 balls with four sixes and a boundary, while Amar was unbeaten on 21 off 12 with three hits to the fence. Shahab Alam took 2-26 for Tigers. 

Earlier, Tigers rode on a quickfire knock from Stirling to get off to a flying start before Kings XI bowlers took control of the match. Stirling, who struck three sixes and three fours, in a 13-ball 34 shared 53 runs for the first wicket with Sandeep Sunar. 

The scores read 53-2 after Sahu removed Stirling and John Simpson in consecutive deliveries. Sandeep was next to go for 25 off 19 that included five boundaries. 

Dipendra Singh Airee took them across 150 making a 40-ball 45 with five boundaries. Skipper Prithu Baskota made a run-a-ball 20 with two hits to the fence. Sahu (3-24) and Samsad Sheikh (3-18) shared six wickets between them for Kings XI.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard