logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sandeep-inspired Patriots register first win

Dec 09, 2018 | CN Staff |

Leggie Sandeep Lamichhane led Lalitpur Patriots to their first win of the Everest Premier League at the TU Stadium on Sunday.

Electing to bat first, Patriots posted a challenging 143-5 in 20 overs after Sandeep Jora lifted their innings with a quickfire 25 off just eight balls. Tigers were quickly reduced to 16-3 but skipper Prithu Baskota, Dipendra Singh Airee and Bhim Sharki kept them in the game before getting restricted to 132-8. 

Sandeep Lamichhane, who was playing his last match of the tournament as he is leaving for Australia to play the Big Bash League, played a crucial role in Patriots victory picking up three wickets including that of Irish opener Paul Stirling (one).

Patriots had lost opener Dilip Nath (one) and John Simpson (13) early in the game before skipper Prithu Baskota, Dipendra Singh Airee and Bhim Sharki kept them in the chase.

Prithu shared 48 runs for the fourth wicket with Dipendra before losing his wicket to Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi for a 29-ball 26 that included three hits to the fence. Bhim scored freely and did the majority of scoring hitting a nine-ball 21 in a 37-run stand for the fourth wicket. 

Bhim hit two sixes and a four. Tigers needed a lift in their innings and their last hope Dipendra also departed as the match slipped out of their hands. Dipendra made 41 off 45 balls with three fours and a six. 

George Scott was unbeaten on 18 off nine balls that included two sixes. Man-of-the-match Lamichhane took 3-26 from four overs and Sunny Patel picked up 2-17. 

Earlier, hard-hitting batsman Sonu Tamang top scored for Patriots making a 24-ball 35 not out hitting three sixes and a four. Indian duo Gaurav Tomar (30) and Jaykishan Kolsawala (20) was their next best scorer. 

George Scott took two wickets for Tigers. Lalit Singh Bhandari, Kamal Singh Airee and Paul Stirling took one each.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard