logo of cricketingnepal.com

Second consecutive win for Rhinos

Nov 01, 2018 | CN Staff |
Chitwan Rhinos earned their second consecutive victory in the Pokhara Premier League to strengthen their position in the points table for the top three spot. 

Hari Shankar Sah once again struck a half century and gave a desired start as Rhinos edged Gyanendra Malla-led Kathmandu Royals -- who went on to lose their first match in three games -- by 13 runs. 

Put in to bat first, Rhinos made 149-5 in 20 overs after Hari Shankar and Anil Kumar Sah began with a half century stand. Royals' chances hinged on their consistent batsman Gaurav Tomar and skipper Gyanendra but once the two batsmen lost their wickets, they were stopped at 136-9 in 20 overs. 

Gaurav had kept Royals in the game with a 58-run stand with Pawan Sarraf who fell for 28 after hitting three fours and a six in
22 balls. Skipper Paras Khadka did the trick by removing Gaurav for 39. His 35-ball 39 included four boundaries and three sixes. 

Gyanendra looked fluent and struck Karan KC for consecutive four and six leaving Royals to get 30 from 20 balls. But Karan bowled the skipper to put Rhinos on edge. Bhuwan Karki then bowled a crucial 17th over conceding just two runs and removed Prithu Baskota before Karan and Paras negotiating with the tail order in next two overs. 

Gyanendra made 30 off 22 hitting three fours and a six. Karan KC took 3-34 from four overs, while Paras picked up two wickets. 

Earlier, Hari Shankar and Anil added 54 runs for the first wicket before the latter fell to Basanta Regmi. Anil made a run-a-ball 27 hitting three fours and a six. Man-of-the-match Hari Shankar made 60 off 49 with five boundaries and three sixes.
Smit Patel was Rhinos' second best scorer making 31 off 24 with three fours and a six. Basanta Regmi took two wickets for Royals.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard