logo of cricketingnepal.com

PPL becomes highest cash-prize tournament

Oct 24, 2018 | CN Staff |

With Rs 2.7 million at offer for the champions, Pokhara Premier League (PPL) has become the highest cash-prized Twenty20 franchise cricket tournament of the country.

Queen’s Event Management Pvt Ltd on Wednesday announced that the winners of the tournament will get Rs 2.7 million and runners-up will take home one million rupees, eclipsing cash purse to the champions for the Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL). PPL is the latest addition in country’s list of franchise cricket, the other being Everest Premier League.

While the winners – Team Chauraha Dhanagadhi – of the DPL got Rs 2.5 million, the EPL champions had taken home two million rupees. There are more perks in the PPL as the best players of the tournament – man-of-the-series, best bowler and batsman – will get Suzuki 150CC Gixxer Bike from VG Automobiles. ‘

It is also the first time in a domestic cricket tournament that three motorcycles are given in a single tournament.

Queen’s on Wednesday also informed that it has signed title sponsorship deal with Namaste Lager Beer. The details of the deal were not disclosed.

A total of six franchises are participating in PPL including Chitwan Rhinos, Pokhara Paltan, Biratnagar Titans, Butwal Blasters, Kathmandu Royals and Dhangadhi Blues. The tournament begins on October 26 with Sandeep Lamichhane’s Titans taking on Sharad Vesawkar’s Paltan.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard