logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sharad returns for World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier

Sep 18, 2018 | CN Staff |

Sharad Vesawkar returned from injury as Subash Khakurel faced the axe for an 18-member preliminary national team squad announced on Tuesday for the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier (Eastern Region) slated for October 3-12.

The Eastern Region Qualifier features seven teams including hosts Malaysia, Singapore, Bhutan, Thailand, China, Myanmar and Nepal. The top three teams from this Qualifier will join United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar and Kuwait in the six-team Asia Regional Qualifier. Only the top two teams from the Asia Regional Qualifier will reach the 2020 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Sharad had injured his finger while playing Nepal’s first ever One Day International (ODI) match in a two-game bilateral series away to the Netherlands in Amstelveen on August 1 and 3. He then went on to miss Nepal’s crucial ACC Asia Cup Qualifier campaign where the team agonizingly finished fourth.

Subash, meanwhile, had a mixed bag in the Asia Cup Qualifier in Malaysia where he did score a maiden ODI half century (against the UAE) but seems to have paid the price for his sluggish display. From the squad that played the Asia Cup Qualifier, Rohit Kumar Paudel has been released from the national squad to join the youth team for the upcoming ACC U-19 Asia Cup.

Bangladesh are hosting the ACC U-19 Asia Cup where Nepal are playing India, Afghanistan and the UAE. National team will be holding a closed-camp at the TU ground from Thursday and it will give more opportunity to Shahab Alam, Dipesh Shrestha, Pradeep Airee and Sunil Dhamala to find a spot in the senior squad.

Other members participating in the Asia Cup Qualifiers were retained. Paras Khadka has been named the captain of the side and is joined by Gyanendra Malla, Basanta Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Aarif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Singh Bhandari, Anil Kumar Sah and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi.

The three-member Independent Selection Committee is headed by ICC Representative Aminul Islam, Paras and national team head coach Jagat Tamatta.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard