logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal lose to India U-19 'A' by eight wickets

Sep 14, 2018 | CN Staff |

Nepal lost to India U-19 ‘A’ by eight wickets in their second match of the Quadrangular U-19 One Day Series in Lucknow on Friday.

The defeat has thrown Nepal out of the contention for the top two spot to play the final having also lost against India ‘B’ in their first match on Wednesday. Nepal will now play Afghanistan in their final league match on Sunday before meeting the same side in the third place game on Tuesday.

Afghanistan, who had lost to India ‘A’ by 140 runs in their first match, went down to the ‘B’ team of the hosts by two wickets on Friday. India ‘A’ and ‘B’ will now meet in the final.

Nepali batsmen had capitulated against India ‘B’ but on Friday they managed to show an improved display although they only had three notable contributors while reaching 156 all out in 45.5 overs.

The Indian side scampered to victory in just 24.1 overs although Kamal Singh Airee struck in the third over with cheap dismissal of Nehal Wadhera (one). Skipper Anuj Rawat and YV Binod build on a 65-run partnership. Pawan Sarraf removed the captain after he made a 44-ball 47 hitting eight fours.

The dismissal hardly mattered as Rathod and Prabhsimran Singh added unbeaten 79 runs for the third wicket. Rathod made 59 from 68 balls with five fours and a six, while Singh scored 46 from 29 hitting three sixes and two fours.

Nepal earlier didn’t have the best of the start losing Ravi Shah (five), Rit Gautama (naught) and skipper Aasif Sheikh (duck) cheaply. Sundeep Zora and Trit Raj Das resurrected the Nepali innings with a 69-run fourth wicket partnership. Trit made 46 off 86 with seven boundaries.

Zora continued to hold the innings and shared another 49 runs with Bhim Sharki but his dismissal triggered a terrible collapse as Nepal went on to lose six wickets in a space of 15 runs. Zora top scored in the match making 66 from 93 balls with five fours and a six.

Bhim chipped in 28 from 46 with three hits to the fence. YD Mangwani and Ajay Dev Goud took four wickets each for India ‘A’. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard