logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal to grace Cricket World Cup Trophy

Aug 25, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
For years, cricket enthusiasts in Nepal have been supporting various teams and watching them play to win the ICC World Cup trophy. Nepal will now get to see sports world’s second most coveted trophy at its home town.

The trophy of the 50-over Cricket World Cup to be held in England and Wales next year will also be brought to Nepal. The International Cricket Council (ICC) is initiating the tour from the ICC headquarters in Dubai on August 27. The #CWCTrophyTour will cover Nepal among the 21 countries of five continents across 60 cities. According to ICC, this is the longest World Cup Trophy Tour.

The trophy will tour around sixty cities for nine months and the tour will not only consist those countries taking part in the tournament but will also connect fans around other eleven countries where cricket is growing rapidly. 

The journey starting from Dubai will then travel to Oman and then the USA, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, India, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Kenya, Rwanda, Nigeria, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany before arriving in England and Wales on 19 February, 2019 for a 100-day domestic Trophy Tour.

Ten countries including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, West Indies, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and England are participating in ICC Cricket World Cup. West Indies and Afghanistan secured their spot from the Qualifiers held in Zimbabwe. The ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in England and Wales from May 30 to July 4.  

Nepal ended the World Cup Qualifiers in eighth position and were upgraded as ODI nation. For Nepal, it will be the second instance that they will get to see trophy of world's most popular event. Ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, Nepal had graced the football World Cup trophy.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard