logo of cricketingnepal.com

Batsmen make merry as Nepal crush Sharks

Jul 26, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
On a day when batsmen made merry at the pitch with three aggressive half centuries, Nepal hammered East London Sharks by 134 runs in their last practice match of the Europe tour on Friday.
Put in to bat first, Nepal posted a mammoth 251-8 in 20 overs after Gyanendra Malla, skipper Paras Khadka and Dipendra Singh Airee blitzed in the game. Leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane then ripped through the top order with three wickets in a single over as Sharks were restricted to 117-9. 
It was Nepal's batting that stole the show despite losing Thursday's centurion Anil Sah (eight) with 28 runs on the board. Paras stepped in and together with his deputy shared 104 runs for the second wicket as Nepal sniffed a mammoth total. 
Paras, who reached his half century in just 22 balls, was the main tormentor smashing seven fours and five sixes in his 30-ball 67. Gyanendra finally found back his form hitting five fours and six maximums in a 47-ball 75. 
Gyanendra shared 51 runs for the third wicket wih Dipendra who provided the required lift with some brutal hittings. Dipendra also reached his half century in 22 balls and remained unbeaten on 67 off 26, his innings studded with six sixes and four hits to the fence. He shared 61 runs for the fifth wicket with Rohit Kumar Paudel (12 not out). 
Salim Akbar picked up two wickets, while Bilal Butt and Arshad Haroon had one scalp apiece for the local side.
Karan KC opened the floodgates for Nepal striking in the second over before Sandeep reduced the local side to 22-4 with three wickets in the fifth over. He returned the envious figures of 3-2 with one maiden in three overs.
Taqi Abbas top scored for Sharks with 32 off  24 deliveries. Hafiz Yawar (26) and Arshad (16 not out) were other batsmen to make runs in double figures. Lalit Sing Bhandari also took two wickets, while Sharad and Dipendra also had one. 
Nepal will now play Triangular Twenty20 series with MCC and Netherlands on Sunday at the home of cricket -- the Lord's.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard