logo of cricketingnepal.com

Subash makes comeback after almost three years

Jul 17, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Opener Subash Khakurel forged a comeback into the national team almost after three years as a 15-member final squad was announced on Tuesday for Nepal’s upcoming tour of England and the Netherlands.

Subash, who last played for Nepal in the ICC World Cricket League Championship (WCLC) matches against Papua New Guinea at the United Arab Emirates in November, 2015, has gone through a long layoff due to niggling injuries.

The right-handed wicket keeper batsman, who has the highest score for Nepal in 50-over cricket (115 runs against USA) during the 2012 ICC World Cricket League Division 4, finally found his place in the team following his impressive performance in the recently concluded Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament.

Known as a batsman capable to play new ball against the seamers, his inclusion comes at a time when Nepal has been trying hard to get rid of its opening woes. In absence of Subash, Nepal have been trying out different opening combinations but have so far failed to get desired start for a long time.

Emerging cricketer Anil Sah and Gyanendra Malla are the two other probable openers in the 15-member squad for the tour.

Nepal are taking on the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) and the Netherlands in the Triangular Twenty20 tournament at the iconic Lord’s cricket ground on July 29 in London. The match against the Dutch has been approved as Twenty20 International.

The tour of England will then be followed by Nepal’s first over One Day International Series which it is going to play against the Netherlands on August 1 and 3 in with both the matches scheduled to be held in Amstelveen.

From the squad that competed in this year’s ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers, Subash will be filling in the void left by the exclusion of Dilip Nath. Rest of the team members from the World Cup Qualifiers playing squad were retained.

Paras Khadka will lead the Nepali team that also consists of Basanta Regmi, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gyanendra Malla, Karan KC, Lalit Singh Bhandari, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Aarif Sheikh, Shakti Gauchan, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami and Sandeep Lamichhane.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard