logo of cricketingnepal.com

Warriors underline title credentials with fourth victory

Jul 17, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Hashim Ansari's Bajaj Khadak Warriors underlined their title credentials in the first Mayor Cup Saptari Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament with their fourth consecutive victory to wrap up the league campaign on Tuesday.Already in Wednesday's final where they will meet Siddhant Lohani-led Bode Barsain Thunders, Warriors eased to an eight-wicket victory over Tilathi Koladi Mahindra Heroes. The Mehoob Alam-side were already knocked out from the league stage.

Electing to bat first, Heroes could only manage 112-9 in 20 overs after Gomananda Amatya, Upendra Roy, Bibek Yadav and Pushpa Thapa took two wickets each.

Opener Hari Shankar Sah negotiated with the target leading Warriors to 114-2 in 16.5 overs. Mehboob removed opener Gunananda Roy (duck) early in the game but Hari Shankar stood firm and together with Hashim (16) and Bibek sailed the team home.

Hari Shankar top scored with an unbeaten 53-ball 47 that included four boundaries and a six, while man-of-the-match Bibek struck a quickfire 42 not out from 22 balls with five sixes and two boundaries.   

Earlier, Warriors got rid of dangerman Mehboob (duck) in the first over as Heroes' innings rarely found a lift in the game. Another opener Rahul Mandal top scored for them with 30 from 34 balls with two fours and a six.

Samsad Sheikh was the next best scorer with a run-a-ball 22 hitting twin boundaries and a maximum. Minash Thapa (18) and Bikash Das (16) were other batsmen to reach double digits.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard