logo of cricketingnepal.com

EPL, UNDP join hands for this edition

Jul 03, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Everest Premier League (EPL) Pvt Ltd has partnered with United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) for the third edition of the city-based franchise Twenty20 cricket tournament.

The partnership will be aimed at the promotion and achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) – which was adopted by UN member states in 2015 – in Nepal through sports.

According to the partnership, the UNDP and EPL will collaborate to undertake joint initiatives to raise awareness on SDGs and mobilize relevant stakeholders and advocate for their contribution to the achievement of goals.

The partnership will also explore ways to promote and maximize the contribution of cricket to the sustainable development of Nepal. The slogan for this partnership will be “#Cricket4SDGs”.

"This is great because our association with sports is taking birth through Nepal. We are pleased to partner with the EPL for the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals in Nepal. We now have to be creative and think about the ways how we can reach those goals," said Renaud Meyer, Country Director of UNDP Nepal.

“We are very excited to enter this historic partnership with the UN endorsing the SDGs as our social agenda. We hope to be able to jointly promote the SDGs and make people aware about their individual responsibilities for us to be able to achieve sustainable development. Cricket in recent times, because of its popularity, has been a great tool for spreading social awareness and we believe we can make great impact to trigger social change through this partnership,” said EPL Pvt Ltd Managing Director Aamir Akhtar.

EPL is a city-based franchise cricket tournament which is now into its third edition and tentative date for this edition is set for November. Biratnagar Warriors, Bhairahawa Gladiators, Pokhara Rhinos, Lalitpur Patriots, Kathmandu Kings and Chitwan Tigers are the six teams involved in the previous edition.

EPL will be expected to give continuity to the same model and number of teams for the next edition. Paras Khadka’s Warriors had beaten Sharad Vesawkar-led Gladiators in the final at the TU Stadium which was packed by over 12,000 supporters last year.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard